Recent beer tastings

Ok, done with all the Europe posts! That took a lot out of me. Here, I’ll include some new beers I’ve tried recently, in the U.S. All were on tap, except where you see the bottle, or specified as such.

These three are from TrapRock Brewing in NJ. I don’t have pictures of them, but trust me…they’re good. We were able to taste these, thanks to our friends, Larry & Amie. (yes, they have taps in their basement):

Trap Rock Kestrel IPA (Berkeley Heights,NJ)-very good, rich with a bitter aftertaste

Trap Rock Pilsner-nice, refreshing, cereal aftertaste

Trap Rock Saison (thanks, Larry!)-very refreshing (ok, I lost my notes on this one, but I remember enjoying it quite a bit)

I’ve also had their Oatmeal Stout in the past….delicious! They really do a great job over there 🙂

These two were consumed at the Stirling Hotel in Stirling, NJ:

Sierra Nevada Hop Smack Double Black – awesome! Hoppy, a bit like a Stone Sublimely Self Righteous, dark. Excellent!

Six Point Wit (Brooklyn, NY) – light and fruity, just ok

These two we had at the Bronx Alehouse in NY:

Captain Lawrence Kaptain Kolsch (Pleasantville, NY) – very good, refreshing, a bit on the light side with a little bitterness following, 5.5% alc (I’d love to try some of their others one day!!)

Gaffel Kolsch (Germany) – light, a nice Kolsch (I like the Captain Lawrence better though!)

Real Ale Lost Gold IPA (TX) -excellent, hoppy and delicious, 6.6% alc

The following two were consumed at Tomato Head in Knoxville, TN:

Highland Brewing Gaelic ale (NC) – amber ale, nice with a bitter aftertaste, refreshing

Woodruff White Mule Pale Ale (Knoxville, TN) -good session beer

The following were from a sampler:

Terrapin Hop Karma IPA (Athens, GA) – dark IPA, quite hoppy

French Broad Brewing Rye Hopper (Asheville, NC) – very unique flavor, strong hops present,

Yazoo Hop Project (Nashville, TN)  (from~2 months ago #51??) – very hoppy, bitter aftertaste, good beer for hopheads

Marble City Raspberry Infused Wheat (Knoxville, TN) – sweet, you get the raspberry flavor on the way out, ok

I think that’s it for now. I need to start drinking my current bottle collection, so there may not be anything new for a while, unless I’m at the Pub.

What’s on your beer list for the summer?

Cheers!

T.

Leave a Reply

Blog Top Sites

StatCounter

stats for wordpress
